My Learnings from NeoG Camp Level Zero

My Learnings from NeoG Camp Level Zero

A walkthrough my Level Zero Journey.

Hello everyone! In this blog I'll share my learning experience from neoGCamp started by Tanay Pratap and also how I started my Web Development journey through it with a glimpse at some of my projects that I made in this journey. What all learnings I got from Level Zero and many more. I hope it motivates some of you to start your coding Journey.

About me

So before sharing about LevelZero, I would like to introduce myself.

I'm Kavita Pathak, an aspiring Full Stack Web Developer. I'm also currently pursuing Bachelors in Engineering course in Computer Engineering from Mumbai University.

Background

So I joined my Institute in 2018 and in my first two years of my college I was really confused on what to do as I just knew about C Programming. Then I came to know about this web stuff at the end of my second year and decided to take a dive into Web Development but as I said it was really confusing and overwhelming at the same time for me. So I searched some random youtube videos on Web Development and started my journey.

What is NeoGCamp LevelZero ?

LevelZero is the starting point of this boot-camp for programming. It is a beginner-friendly, structured course to provide you basics of programming. A free and open level, basically designed for all the beginners, people who have never written a single line of code. Learn more about it here.

How I got to know about it ?

During the Lockdown phase as I said I was randomly scrolling through YouTube for web Development and then I stumbled upon one of Tanay Pratap's videos about programming and I'm totally grateful to the YouTube Recommendations for recommending his video on my feed. This is how I got to know about the level zero and then I thoroughly read about it on the website and then I got to know that if we complete level zero then we can advance to level one.

What is Mark-15?

Basically the level zero is divided into 15 pointers or you can say to complete level zero, you need to complete mark 15 badge. Here you will be taught to :

-> write your first program

-> host your first site

-> make your own portfolio + blog

-> write a vanillaJS app

-> write your first react app

and along with that you will have to do assignments. You can read more about it here.

You can head to Tanay Pratap YouTube channel to start your learning for level 0(even if you're an absolute beginner). Here is the playlist for LevelZero.

My Learnings

I started with level zero month back with just little knowledge of HTML and CSS and today when I'm writing this blog where I'm almost just done with level zero completion, here's what I gained from it :

Confidence in coding :

When I look back I had zero confidence in coding but now I can definitely say that my confidence has boosted up. From just knowing HTML and CSS to knowing basics of JavaScript, React I've definitely come very far but I know I still have a long way to go.

Attention Span :

I've never been this dedicated to coding since the time I've started but now I can easily seat for 4-5 hours and code without getting bored. All this have been possible because of Tanay Sir's level zero.

Getting my basics cleared :

Even though I had learned HTML and CSS before, I lacked in basics but now because of the lectures my basic concepts have got cleared. Even GitHub always scared me but now I know how to push my codes to GitHub and how to add a README file to writing good commit messages. Tanay sir has done a fabulous job in teaching basics of javascript(Vanilla JS) too. Earlier I used to fear of words such as querySelector() and addEventListener() but now I can easily understand their functionalities.

Coding is fun

from thinking that coding can be boring if done for long hours to now really enjoying long coding sessions, it was definitely an amazing experience. Even though the lectures video weren't live, I could feel like he is teaching live. Coding with Tanay sir was really singing and of course how can I forget about "Mai Yahaan Tu Wahaan song" during classes. Even I used to sing along with him.

Few of my Projects :

  • Explore India Quiz : This is a CLI app on "Explore India" quiz where you can answer some questions related to India and can learn more about it.

  • Ferb Talk : A translator which will take English text from the user as input and convert that into Ferb's language.

  • Emoji Interpreter : An emoji interpreter mad using React where you can interpret the meanings of the entered emojis.

You can see more of my work on my GitHub.

Conclusion :

I would really like to thank Tanay Sir for his videos and the community that he has formed on Discord Server. This was all about my journey, I am still left with the submission of level zero and I don't know what future holds for me but now I've really become confident in coding and still have a long way to go.

Hey! If you've read the full article, thank you for sticking by and I hope it was helpful to you. Hope you all also start your journey. Do leave comments and share it with your friends.

Stay tuned for more such blogs in the future :)